nanaxgang.blogg.se

Porcupine tree deadwing album cover
Porcupine tree deadwing album cover












porcupine tree deadwing album cover

The issue I have with this album is that the songs I really enjoy on this album are just too good compared to the ones I don’t and therefore it comes across as a bit inconsistent especially compared to just about everything released after this. By no means am I suggesting PT sold out on this album but it did mark a massive transition in their sound. This was the band’s first attempt at writing more cohesive songs that definitely sound more commercial then anything they had released before, which is kind of ironic as one of the themes of the album is about ‘selling out’ and that music is treated like a product to be sold rather then an experience to savoured. Stupid Dream marked a change of direction for the band as everything prior to this release mostly fell within the psychedelic/space rock bucket.

PORCUPINE TREE DEADWING ALBUM COVER FULL

I reviewed this album in full some years ago and looking back now I can say that the prediction I left in that review that PT would be around for countless years to come was something I got completely wrong! I must have been completely absorbed by it at the time as my review is really positive, in reflection 7 years later it’s not as strong as I remember it!ĭespite this album hitting the bottom position on my list I do enjoy it however there are parts of the Incident (it’s 55 minutes long divided into 14 parts) that to put it bluntly are not as strong as others! It is an incredibly diverse album that covers a lot of ground but some of the smaller parts do not do enough to engage with me successfully and I find I don’t really listen to this album as much as the others.Ĭontroversial statement: I cannot stand the album closer ‘I DRIVE THE HEARSE’ just don’t like it, never have never will! I’ve provided links to the songs I mention that will take you to YouTube if you wanted to listen to my recommendations.Whilst I have ranked these albums from worst to best – worst is a bit misleading as actually enjoy all these 10 albums IMMENSLEY – but some do it for me more then others!.

porcupine tree deadwing album cover

It does not mean these are terrible songs and there may be some controversial selections on my part but again, these are just my opinions.

  • I’ve also listed what I consider low point of each album (with one exception!) for me personally, these are songs that generally don’t resonate with me like the rest do.
  • I’ve listed my standout track and a second recommendation for each album based entirely on the songs that engage with me and that I enjoy the most – these might not be the same songs that do it for you!.
  • This is my list therefore only reflects my opinions of the 10 albums and by no means should be taken seriously.
  • 😦ġ0 Albums (and countless EPs/Live Albums/B-side compilations) over a 20 year career isn’t bad and Steven Wilson is still going strong with a very successful solo career having just released his 5th solo album ‘To the Bone’ recently (which hit the number #3 slot in the UK album charts!) so all is not completely lost, we are still getting music from the Maestro! I also want this list to be a bit of a love letter to Porcupine Tree as officially they have called it quits, according to this interview with frontman Steven Wilson in March 2018 and the wording on their Wikipedia entry. It got me thinking that if I had to rank all 10 of their studio albums from worst to best what would my list look like? So I’ve decided to list them!

    porcupine tree deadwing album cover

    I’ve recently bought a new record player and starting buying Vinyl as a new hobby and during the last few months I’ve already picked up 4 Porcupine Tree Albums (Deadwing, In Absentia, Fear of a Blank Planet and Up the Downstair) and having spun them up a couple of times it’s really got me back into my favourite band of all time! This is my first blog post in over 7 years! (Naughty, Naughty!)














    Porcupine tree deadwing album cover